Council

Overview


The Municipal District is governed by Council which is comprised of five Councillors who are elected every four years in municipal elections that occur province wide. The Municipal District has four wards ( Ward 1 is represented by 2 Councillors) and after each municipal election, Council appoints a Reeve and Deputy Reeve from the Council Members.

Council Membership


Councillors are members of many area and provincial committees and boards to help represent the Municipal District and to bring information back to Council for deliberation, questions and decisions. Council also appoints community volunteers each October to Municipal Boards, Committees and Commissions these positions are advertised in the Bighorn News, September edition each year.

Meetings


Council has regular monthly meetings on the 2nd Tuesday of each month starting at 9:00 am. Council meetings are open for anyone to attend. Delegations are typically scheduled for 10:00 am and 10:30 am on those days. To inquire about being a delegation please contact the Executive Assistant at 403-673-3611 ext 225

  • Council meetings are in-person
  • Hybrid functions using TEAMS is available for attendees who are participating in the meeting, such as delegation, public hearing, MD consultants, etc.
  • Public can follow Council meetings via the MD of BIghorn's YouTube channel 

Agendas & Minutes


Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes 

Municipal District of Bighorn Corporate Strategic Plan 2020-2025


Members

Joss Elford -Councillor Ward 1

Joss Elford2

Phone: 403-678-1114
Email: joss.elford@mdbighorn.ca

Jen Smith- Councillor Ward 1

Jen Smith2

Phone: 403-678-8116
Email: jen.smith@mdbighorn.ca

Reeve Lisa Rosvold - Councillor Ward 2

Lisa-Rosvold

Phone: 403-678-7063
Email: lisa.rosvold@mdbighorn.ca

Alice James - Councillor Ward 3

Alice James2

Phone: 403-851-0817
Email: alice.james@mdbighorn.ca

Deputy Reeve Rick Tuza - Councillor Ward 4
Rick Tuza1

Phone: 587-224-7088
Email: rick.tuza@mdbighorn.ca

COUNCIL GROUP

Council5

COUNCIL GROUP CONTACT: 

council@mdbighorn.ca