There are two major river basins in the MD of Bighorn, the Bow River basin and the Red Deer River basin. Each river basin contains many sub-basins. Watershed Planning and Advisory Councils (WPACs) are the organizations that are tasked with monitoring the watersheds in Alberta and developing activities to address watershed issues. The MD of Bighorn supports and participates in many of the watershed advisory groups and their initiatives.

The MD of Bighorn Environmental Fieldman administers the MD’s watershed protection initiatives which include riparian area preservation and environmentally safe agricultural practices alongside water courses.

Map of River Basins and Sub-Basins in the MD of Bighorn

Bow River Basin Council (BRBC)

Bow River Basin_Watersheds

Red Deer River Watershed Alliance (RDRWA)
Red Deer River Basin_Watersheds



Major Sub-Basin Organizations

Ghost Watershed Alliance Society (GWAS)

Jumpingpound Creek Watershed Partnership (JCWP)
Information About The Partnership
Jumpingpound Creek Integrated Watershed Management Plan